Cooperating School Districts of St. Louis, MO Summary

In this four-year, third-party study funded by the U.S. Department of Education, forty schools in the Cooperating School Districts of St. Louis were randomly assigned to four treatment groups of ten schools each—three groups of schools implemented Caring School Community (CSC), the fourth group served as a control. The three treatment groups of CSC schools began implementing CSC in successive years: the first group in 2002–03, the second group in 2003–04, and the third group in 2004–05. Outcomes were measured annually via surveys of students, surveys of teaching staffs, records of student discipline referrals, and Missouri state achievement test scores in math and reading. Read a summary of this report here.